Grey Imports or Parallel Imports is a term used for importing brand new or used cars from overseas through channels other than the car manufacturer’s official distribution system.

Several countries are discouraging the grey car imports by combining age restriction with high import duties to increase the cost of such vehicles and force people to buy locally assembled cars. Other countries like South Africa, Morocco, Egypt and Indonesia have banned the import of used cars. Some countries have implemented an introduction of cleaner fuel emissions standards for imports and as such, they allow import of cars if they pass Euro II or Euro III or Euro IV emission tests. There are countries that allow bringing cars in the right hand drive, other countries only left hand drive.

Before completing a transaction with a foreign seller, ensuring that your car purchase is permitted to be imported in the your country can save future headaches.

GAZOOBA suggests all car importers to contact a local port of entry for complete information on regulations.

If you’re wondering how to import a car and legally get it on the road in your country, GAZOOBA has put together a comprehensive explanation below.

Click on your country for guidelines on car import rules and documentation.


  • Botswana
  • Burundi
  • Benin
  • Cameroon
  • DR Congo
  • Gabon
  • Ghana
  • Kenya
  • Liberia
  • Malawi
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe


  • USA


  • Canada

Middle East

  • UAE
  • Lebanon
  • Saudi Arabia

Caucasus Region

  • Georgia


  • Bangladesh
  • Brunei
  • Hong Kong
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Malaysia
  • Pakistan
  • Singapore
  • Sri Lanka
  • Thailand

Pacific Region

  • Australia
  • Cook Islands
  • Fiji
  • Kiribati
  • Laos
  • Maldives
  • Micronesia
  • Mongolia
  • New Zealand
  • PNG
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands

Central Asia

  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan

South America

  • Chile
  • Peru
  • Suriname

Caribbean Islands

  • Cayman Islands
  • Barbados
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Jamaica
  • St Kitts & Nevis
  • St Vincent
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Turks & Caicos


  • Cyprus
  • Ireland
  • United Kingdom


  • Russia